Fifty towns in England will be given a share of £1bn to revitalise their struggling high streets.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said the announcement means more than 100 high streets will be supported by the High Streets Fund.

The money could be used for schemes such as improving transport links or converting empty shops into homes or offices.

The news comes as high street retailers fight to stay in business, with mass store closures, job losses and profit warnings.

Mr Johnson said: “Our high streets are right at the heart of our communities, and I will do everything I can to make sure they remain vibrant places where people want to go, meet and spend their money.

“But with our town centres facing challenges, we’re today expanding the High Streets Fund to support over 100 high streets to regenerate – backed by £1bn of vital investment.

Come and join us at our High Streets Development Conference as we discuss major regeneration opportunities in towns across the UK >

“This scheme is going to re-energise and transform even more of our high streets – helping them to attract new businesses, boost local growth, and create new infrastructure and jobs.”

The local authorities and the sites set to benefit are:

  • Dudley: Brierley Hill town centre
  • Barrow: Barrow town centre
  • Dover: Dover town centre and waterfront
  • Plymouth: Plymouth city centre
  • South Gloucestershire: Kingswood
  • Warwick: Leamington town centre
  • North Lincolnshire: Scunthorpe
  • Blackpool: Blackpool town centre
  • Fylde: Kirkham town centre
  • Halton: Runcorn Old Town
  • Torridge: Bideford
  • North Devon: Barnstaple
  • Ashfield: Sutton
  • Teignbridge: Newton Abbot
  • Barnsley: Barnsley town centre
  • Portsmouth: Fratton
  • Thanet: Ramsgate
  • Calderdale: Elland town centre
  • North East Lincolnshire: Grimsby town centre
  • Rochdale: Rochdale town centre
  • Southampton: Heart of the City Quarter
  • Wiltshire: Salisbury city centre
  • Newcastle-under-Lyme: Newcastle-under-Lyme town centre
  • Doncaster: Doncaster Waterdale
  • Hambleton: Northallerton
  • South Kesteven: Grantham
  • Redcar and Cleveland: Loftus
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth: Nuneaton town centre
  • Tamworth: Tamworth town centre
  • Bolton: Bolton town centre
  • Torbay: Paignton
  • Scarborough: Scarborough town centre
  • Carlisle: Carlisle city centre
  • Worcester: Blackfriars – northern city centre
  • Huntingdonshire: St Neots
  • Northumberland: Blyth town centre
  • Tendring: Clacton town centre
  • Wiltshire: Trowbridge
  • Rossendale: Bacup town centre
  • Harrow: Wealdstone
  • Portsmouth: Commercial Road
  • Thurrock: Grays town centre
  • South Holland: Holbeach
  • Harlow: Harlow town centre
  • Wandsworth: Putney town centre
  • Wycombe: High Wycombe
  • Forest of Dean: Cinderford town centre
  • Allerdale: Maryport town centre
  • Middlesbrough: Middlesbrough centre
  • Greenwich: Woolwich town centre

Come and join us at our High Streets Development Conference as we discuss major regeneration opportunities in towns across the UK >